Welcome to Jiawen Li and Karol Karnowski

30th Jul 2015

We welcome two new post docs: Jiawen Li and Karol Karnowski, to our group. Jiawen Li joins us from UC Irvine following her PhD in Zhongping Chen’s group. Karol Karnowski joins us from NCU in Torun following a postdoc in Maciej Wojtkowski’s group.

Farewell to Kelsey Kennedy

2nd Jun 2015

After over 4 illustrious years we say farewell to our recent PhD graduate Kelsey Kennedy. Kelsey’s can-do attitude, passion and enthusiasm helped shape optical elastography at OBEL into what it is today, with many papers, presentations, awards, a great thesis. From all of us at OBEL, thank you, and best of luck for the future!

Forrest Research Foundation Scholarships – Applications close 6 March!

27th Jan 2015

The Forrest Research Foundation of The University of Western Australia was established in 2014 following the donation of $65 million, over 10 years, by Andrew and Nicola Forrest, through the Minderoo Foundation as Trustee of the Forrest Family Foundation. Their donation is to assist Western Australia in becoming a world-class centre of research and innovation through attracting the next generation of outstanding intellects to this State, to pursue either doctoral studies or a postdoctoral fellowship. Applications are now open for …

David Sampson finalist in 2014 Premier’s Science Awards

22nd Jul 2014

David Sampson finalist in 2014 Premier’s Science Awards Three eminent researchers from The University of Western Australia have been named among the finalists for the 2014 Scientist of the Year to be announced at the Premier’s Science Awards on 21 August during National Science Week, Australia’s largest annual celebration of science. Professors Colin MacLeod, David Sampson and Ian Small are among 13 finalists in four categories announced by WA Premier and Science Minister Colin Barnett today. Mr Barnett congratulated the …

David Sampson was made an IEEE Photonics Society Distinguished Lecturer

30th Jun 2013

David Sampson was made an IEEE Photonics Society Distinguished Lecturer, for the term July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014. The Photonics Society Distinguished Lecturers program honours excellent speakers who have made technical contributions of high quality and enhances the technical programs of Photonics Society chapters.

David Sampson made SPIE Fellow

12th Jun 2013

David Sampson made SPIE Fellow The University of Western Australia’s Director of the Centre for Microscopy, Characterisation and Analysis, Winthrop Professor David Sampson, has been elected a Fellow of the prestigious international society for optics and photonics, SPIE.

David Sampson made OSA Fellow

5th Mar 2013

David Sampson made OSA Fellow Prof. David Sampson, Director of the AMMRF at the University of Western Australia (UWA) was recently elected a fellow of the prestigious Optical Society of America (OSA). This was in recognition of his exceptional contributions to the development and applications of waveguide optics for in-situ biomedical imaging. This announcement coincides with the OSA’s annual publication of the Best of the Best global research in optics for the year. Research by Prof. Sampson’s team was featured …

Page 2 of 212